Keep The Peace

What happened to those summer days when
I could keep the peace?
Those dark torments and dreams that haunt I had
ne’er released.
I’ve fought that mighty battle within my mind so long and worn
I am after so many years of sustaining painful wounds.
Don’t you see I’m tired, this body sick and worn, wasted by the
sleepless nights and all the days of scorn.
Is there no pity in you, no empathetic thought to ease your
victims of the sorrow which you have surly brought.
What happened to those summer days when I could keep the
peace?
Those dark torments and dreams that haunt I had
ne’er released!

Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry (Ages 12 to 15)

Leave a Reply

