Chose Who?

When my heart decided
it knew just whom it’d chose.
A lifelong desperation to find
one I’d call home.
What rhythm shall I stride
with?
Which path should I freely
roam? I’ve been down every
path its offered and see here
is not my home?
The nations who have made
me, in flesh and blood through
kin.
I looked to them for answers
but wasn’t one of them;
cause my lineage was like
lightening; it crashed within
a storm.
From what I’ve come results
what had been done and ne’er
forgotten to see the son it
brought to light.
To the Irish I’m Unionist,
that planters seed which grew.
To the English I’m a Scotsman,
an enemy side they knew.
And what I face is whom
to relate, which one am I to chose?
How can I chose between the lines,
to weed them out when all are mine?
The Gaelic Clans and Saxon hoards
are one in me and I’m to score?
Who was the bravest, who was the best,
who is worthy enough in histories eyes
for me to be proud of the ties that bind;
When since so much has intertwined?
Nae and no; I shan’t do so how can one
chose a race? When many have been
mashed together and in the end made
me, a fine mosaic of many bloods
which mold together and flow as one.

Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry (Ages 12 to 15)

Leave a Reply

