Masked Emotions

The masks of two emotions,
the happy and the sad have
reflected the many moods I feel
in which I’m never glad.
The smiling side of my soul,
the side you seldom see springs
forth on only good days when
hope revives in me.
When the birds are singing
and God seems to exist and I
dare to dream that life could be
a blissful, healthy myth.
That smiling side ne’er lasts
long, for NO more than a day;
those clouds of dark and dreariness
come again to stay.
Reality befalls me and tormented
muses and ill I lay alone and beaten
by the evil force nearby, which
is the disease I cannot conquer;
it strives for me to die.

24 Comments

Filed under Poetry

24 responses to “Masked Emotions

  1. Pingback: Thursday Poets Rally Week 32 (November 4-10) | Jingle

  2. Pingback: Agreement 4 Thursday Poets Rally Week 32 Participants… | Promising Poets' Parking Lot

  3. But it can be so confusingly comfortable can’t it? Brought back memories for me..

  4. we all have that at times,
    carry on,
    smiles.

  5. beautiful poetry.
    Thanks for sharing.
    Happy Rally.

  6. great poem. touched me personally being someone surviving mental illness. your use of rhyme worked great never got forced, spoke true…

  7. You can conquer it definitely for sure πŸ˜€

  8. I love the line “The smiling side of my soul,
    the side you seldom see springs
    forth on only good days when
    hope revives in me.”

    Those moments, however brief, of lightness… wow, should that they lasted longer! The sum of my life experience you have captured here.

  9. very beautiful, the poetry..! a nice one to share with the Rally!

    My Rally Entry

  10. Van Gogh is bipolar. Sometimes, I’m bipolar as well.
    I think I just had a glimpse of this poem in my life yesterday. Hormones the culprit. πŸ™‚
    Beautifully written!

    Yuuki-chan:
    http://sugaryichigo.wordpress.com/2010/11/06/gedankenblitze/

  11. B

    this one’s dark.
    oh no, not the layout hun, the poem.
    Kidding. =)
    Just want you to smile.
    There’s still hope hun.

    Fight!

    HAPPY RALLY!

    Oh, here’s my share!
    YOU

    Thanks!

    LOVE,
    B
    thisisbrixx.wordpress.com

  12. I know the feeling….
    I have been there too…
    Very well captured emotions… πŸ™‚

  13. I loved this. There was such a tender sadness about it. No, it doesn’t seem like happiness stays around very long before sadness shows his face again.

    Thanks for sharing. xoxo

  14. I guess all of us are same with our moods. I liked the way you differentiated two moods. The images are vivid. Great work. πŸ™‚

    http://wordsworthmillions.wordpress.com/2010/11/06/my-religion/

  15. Hello, how are you?
    Reminder;
    return favors to poets who are here for you,
    do 18 NEW comments….
    let me know after you are done.
    Thanks for the attention!
    Happy Saturday! xxx

    here is mine:
    http://itistimetothinkformyself.blogspot.com/2010/11/today-i-write-it-down.html

  16. And sometimes… just sometimes fantasy is better than reality

  17. belladonna23

    wow. you truly left me breathless

  18. Pingback: Thursday Poets Rally Week 32 Participation Awards | Promising Poets' Parking Lot

  19. Morning

    http://thursdaypoetsrallypoetry.wordpress.com/2010/11/09/thursday-poets-rally-week-32-participation-awards/

    award notice,
    Happy Wednesday!
    Link a poem to Jingle Poetry potluck if you can, I value your support!
    xxx

    hope you well…

  20. Pingback: Wow, These Are Rare Talents In Poetry….Rally Week 32 Highlight | Promising Poets' Parking Lot

  21. I would love to have you in poets rally week 33.
    let me know by leaving a link under my post.
    Thanks a ton.
    You are quite productive.
    beautiful poem!

Leave a Reply

